Ballon d’Or: who’s won more, Real Madrid or Barcelona?

Real Madrid and Barcelona are the two clubs with most winners of the Ballon d’Or award, with 11 apiece. The current holder of the trophy, Luka Modric, brought Los Blancos level and ended the ten-year duopoly of Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi. The Croatian will hand over the France Football trophy to a new winner on Monday 2 Decemeber 2019, and there is a chance it could unbalance the LaLiga scales.

FC Barcelona’s Lionel Messi has impressed again in the calendar year and is rightly amongst the favourites for success at the ceremony in the Thêatre du Châtelet of Paris. Cristiano, now with Juventus, is also likely to receive a significant number of votes – hype often impacts more than achievements – while Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk is also in with a shout for the title. The Dutch defender would become only the second Red to win the award but after his immense impact in a side that has broken various records en route to winning the Champions League, few could deny his place in the reckoning.

The eleven awards for Real Madrid have seen seven players involved. Cristiano has five (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017), Di Stefano two (1957 and 1959), and then one each for Modric (2018), Cannavaro (2006), Ronaldo (2002), Figo (2000) and Kopa (1958). Barcelona’s latest talisman Messi also has five (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015), with Cruyff on two (1973 and 1974), and Ronaldinho (2005), Rivaldo (1999), Stoichkov (1994) and Luis Suárez (1960) all with a single award.

Clubs with players to have won the Ballon d’Or

ClubBallon d’Or wins
Real Madrid and Barcelona11
Juventus and Milan8
Bayern Munich5
Manchester United4
Hamburg, Dinamo Kiev and Inter Milan2
Olympique Marseille, Liverpool, Ajax, Benfica, Dinamo Moscow, Blackpool, Dukla Praga and Ferencváros1

In terms of other teams behind the two Spanish giants, Juventus and Milan both have eight players to have won the title, Bayern Munich have had five, and Manchester United four. Two players each from Hamburg, Dinamo Kiev and Inter Milan have also recieved the recognition while a star from Olympique Marseille, Blackpool, Dukla Praga, Dinamo Moscow, Benfica, Ferencváros, Ajax and Liverpool have also won the trophy.

You can find out who picks up the 2019 Ballon d’Or by following AS English‘s live coverage which will begin around 18:00 CET.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.