Liverpool Defeat Chelsea on Penalties Again To Win FA Cup

For the second time this season, Liverpool got the better of Chelsea in a penalty shootout to add the FA Cup trophy to the Carabao Cup they had already gotten their hands on, keeping their quadruple dreams alive.

As the Carabao Cup final had, Saturday’s FA Cup final ended goalless after 90 and then 120 minutes, but Chelsea missed two of their seven penalties, with Konstantinos Tsimikas then netting the winner with the 14th of the shootout

Liverpool were on top early on and were the only team in the contest during the opening exchanges. Luis Diaz, in particular, was excellent from the off and he had the game’s first chance, while he was heavily involved in almost everything dangerous that happened in the initial 90 minutes.

Chelsea had a handful of chances fall Christian Pulisic‘s way, but the American was unable to capitalise.

Thomas Tuchel‘s side would have been somewhat relieved when Mohamed Salah was forced off injured after just half an hour.

After the break, it was a mystery as to how the game remained goalless. Both sides missed their fair share, and the scores could well have been level at 2-2 or even 3-3.

Luis Diaz struck the post inside the final 10 minutes, and then Andy Robertson did the same though the Scot perhaps should have scored from the position he found himself in after James Milner‘s cross.

In the shootout, the first two were converted before Cesar Azpilicueta missed Chelsea‘s second and the game’s third penalty.

Edouard Mendy made amends for the Spaniard’s miss by denying Sadio Mane as he had the chance to win it.

Alisson Becker then stopped Mason Mount‘s effort with Chelsea‘s seventh, and Tsimikas converted past Mendy for the winner.

Liverpool‘s attention now turns to a Southampton on Tuesday night, with their chances of a quadruple still alive. They also have Real Madrid to face in the Champions League final this season.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.